English | 中文版 |  Русский

Breaking News:

Trade Organizations

editor picks 

Trade Organizations

View All

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Area of Cooperation

Cooperation in Agriculture, Rural Development, Telecom, Science Tech, Health, Population, and Transport


The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an economic and political organization of eight countries in Southern Asia. It was established on December 8, 1985 by India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan. In April 2007, at the Association's 14th summit, Afghanistan became its eighth member.



SAARC is based in Katmandu, Nepal


Meetings are held annually.  The last SAARC summit was held in New Dehli, India on April 3-4, 2007.

Goals, Meetinsg, Objectives:

ver the years, the SAARC members have expressed their unwillingness on signing a free trade agreement. Though India has several trade pacts with Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan and Sri Lanka, similar trade agreements with Pakistan and Bangladesh have been stalled due to political and economic concerns on both sides. At the Dhaka 2005 Summit, the nations  agreed to organize development funds under a single financial institution with a permanent secretariat, that would cover all SAARC programs ranging from social, to infrastructure, to economic ones.