English | 中文版 |  Русский

Breaking News:

Trade Organizations

editor picks 

Trade Organizations

View All

Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)

Area of Cooperation

A platform to improve development, promote trade and investment opportunities


The Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) is an intergovernmental international organization involving ten Asian nations. It provides a platform to discuss ways to improve development and promote trade, and investment opportunities. The nations involved are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The common objective is to establish a single market for goods and services, much like the European Union. ECO's secretariat and cultural department are located in Tehran, its economic bureau is in Turkey and its scientific bureau is situated in Pakistan.



The Seat of Secretariat and Cultural Department is located in Tehran, Iran.  The  Economic Bureau is located in Turkey and the Scientific Bureau is located in  Pakistan.


The ECO meets annually.  The last host was Turkey in 2007.

Goals, Targets, Objectives:

The Economic Cooperation Organization Trade Agreement (ECOTA) was signed on July 17, 2007 in Islamabad, Pakistan.  The common objective is to establish a single market for goods and services.